Charming Bridges and Soaring Vaulted Ceilings

I didn’t look up pictures of Amiens before my day trip, so I was surprised and charmed to discover dozens of bridges connecting a long public path with private properties. Flanking the path was a river and a stream.

Each bridge had its own personality.57.amiens.2014a 57.amiens.2014bFrom this angle this red door seems to be a door to nowhere. 57.amiens.2014c 57.amiens.2014d 57.amiens.2014e 57.amiens.2014f 57.amiens.2014g 57.amiens.2014hOn my way from the park to the Amiens Cathedral, I stopped in the bookstore over this bridge.57.amiens.2014iImagine living in one of these houses?57.amiens.2014jMy last main stop was the cathedral, which was built in the 1200s in only a span of fifty years, which is lightning speed compared to many other medieval cathedrals (and even by today’s standards—think about how long the last construction project took at your home or workplace). 57.amiens.2014k 57.amiens.2014lIt’s amazing how the structure looks completely different depending on whether you are looking at the façade or the back.57.amiens.2014mIs this not a dramatic scene?57.amiens.2014nThe interior was awe-inspiring. I sat down and looked up for a long time.57.amiens.2014o57.amiens.2014p 57.amiens.2014qOutside, spring tulips were in bloom. 57.amiens.2014r 57.amiens.2014sThe town of Amiens was more than I expected and became more enchanting with every step.57.amiens.2014t

8 thoughts on “Charming Bridges and Soaring Vaulted Ceilings

  1. Oh, tulips! They are just about to grow here in Ottawa, hopefully in time for the Tulips Festival.

    The reflections in the water are beautiful. One thing I noticed here in Canada… all bridges look the same, somehow! It’s like the same architect did them all!

  2. I’ve always wanted to visit Amiens. I recently visited Compiègne, Guize, Soissons and Laon and I really enjoyed getting to know an unknown region of France, Picardy.

    I hope to make it out to Amiens and the Baie de Somme one day. There is so much to see in France!

  3. I remember really enjoying Amiens and I was also quite surprised by how charming and beautiful the city really is. All I had ever heard about Amiens was the cathedral, but it is true, despite what everyone says, it has a lot more to offer than just the cathedral. I would love to go back one day as it has been about 10 years since I visited.

    • It is nice to be pleasantly surprised by places. I also have to say that in spite of the fact that there’s more to the city than the cathedral, the cathedral is incredible inside. I can’t get behind the idea that once you’ve seen one cathedral, you’ve seen them all.

      I hope you get to go back soon! I wonder if it’s changed since you went.

Leave a Reply

