You Can’t Eat This Éclair

Have you ever seen lightning without thunder?68.lightning.2014a 68.lightning.2014bAround 10 one night this week, I took a walk and called my sister. When I saw this lightning, I watched it for a while, fascinated. One lightning bolt flashed after another sans arrêt but without the familiar sound of thunder after.

I scooted home in anticipation of rain. However, it wasn’t until three hours later that the thunder followed. Then came the strongest hailstorm I’ve ever heard. Unlike the French people I know, I never close my shutters when I go to sleep. Shutters aren’t nearly as common in the States as they are in France, and half the time American shutters are merely decorative. I rather like a bit of moonlight streaming through my window when I go to sleep and the sun on my face when I wake up. During the hailstorm I wished I had closed up shop à la française because it sounded like my windows were going to be pelleted in. Flashes of lightning lit up my room through my wispy white curtains.

Though it took me longer to fall asleep, I didn’t mind the storm. The dramatic weather soundtrack kept me company.

2 thoughts on “You Can’t Eat This Éclair

Leave a Reply

