Haute Couture at Sotheby’s

A friend and I recently checked out the haute couture exhibit at Sotheby’s, one of the major international auction houses. One hundred fifty items were on display, mostly dresses but also some hats and shoes and other accessories. All belong to Didier Ludot’s collection and will be auctioned off on July 8 in the first high fashion auction at Sotheby’s Paris location.

To my surprise, there was no line to enter the free exhibit. We had space to roam around the two floors and no competition to view the several catalogues available for reference.

The clothing ranged from the 1920s up to today and were arranged by color. Many of them have been worn by actresses and models.

My friend was the perfect companion, which is why I invited her—how can you go wrong taking a French woman who enjoys shopping to a fashion exhibit?

100_8642
100_8644

My favorite dress was this pale pink John Galliano. The diagonal lines, the lace, the satin, the color… The lace-up made it sexy but not overly so, as the skirt was long and only slit up to the knee. Upon closer examination, I saw where a zipper began on the side but couldn’t find the end, the execution was so seamless. It was really beautiful.

sothebys.2015a 100_8641100_8640From Sotheby’s web site:
John Galliano, 2000
Robe longue en dentelle et satin duchesse rose pâle
A pink satin and lace sheath with asymmetric ‘corset’ bodice and diagonal lacing

Estimation: 1,000-1,500 euros

http://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/collection-didier-ludot-pf1570/lot.32.html

On the Sotheby’s web site you can view the estimated buying price in 20 different currencies. The paper catalogue included it in euros and dollars.

My other favorite was this elaborately pretty dress by Yves Saint Laurent.sothebys.2015bYves Saint Laurent Haute Couture, printemps-été 1963
Robe du soir courte en tulle tilleul brodé de perles et larmes de rhodoïd en nacre par la maison Lesage
Yves Saint Laurent haute couture, s/s 1963
A lavishly embroidered, beaded and sequined cocktail dress

Estimation: 2,500-3,500 euros

http://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/collection-didier-ludot-pf1570/lot.17.html

My friend’s pick in “Which one would you buy?” was this simple, chic dress, which appealed to me as well.sothebys.2015cCourrèges Haute Couture, 1967
Mini-robe en lainage rose buvard
A pink double-faced wool mini-dress with top-stitched detailing

Estimation: 2,000-3,000 euros

http://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/collection-didier-ludot-pf1570/lot.28.html

Her other favorite was this long printed dress. sothebys.2015eSchiaparelli Haute Couture, printemps-été 1938
Collection “cirque” ensemble du soir en crêpe de soie imprimé d’après un dessin de Marcel Vertès
‘Circus collection’, s/s 1938 a rare silk crepe gown printed with designs after Marcel Vertès

Estimation: 2,000-3,000 euros

http://www.sothebys.com/fr/auctions/ecatalogue/2015/collection-didier-ludot-pf1570/lot.26.html

There were more costume-y dresses as well—polka dots, a jumpsuit that resembled a space suit, a one-piece that was laced up from sneakers to pants to top.

A ball gown with full skirt prompted me to explain what an American prom is to my friend. When I think about it, it is a funny tradition that a bunch of 17 and 18-year-olds dress up in gowns and tuxes and ride in limos to dance. But really, unless you move in certain circles, how many times do you get to do that?

I wonder if I can find an opportunity to wear my prom dress. Assuming I can still fit in it, that is.

4 thoughts on “Haute Couture at Sotheby’s

  1. That is a very pretty dress! I’ve always wondered about the auction house exhibitions – do you have to pretend you might be thinking of buying something? I’d probably be tempted to do so anyway, haha.

    • We saw a couple walking around and taking notes, and I wondered if they were doing a scouting before the auction.
      I felt comfortable in there. I’d like to think the owner would be glad that people were appreciating his collection. It’s too bad more fashion enthusiasts won’t be able to enjoy those clothes if they go into private collections– but maybe some of them will be displayed publicly.

  2. I guess I have expensive taste, cause I like the YSL dress, too. Reminds me a bit of something you might see in a Jane Austen-based movie.

    • Thanks for chiming in. I didn’t realize I liked YSL so much until I saw a couple of dresses I liked at the exhibit, then realized they were his upon checking the catalogue.

      Yes, going with what you said, the dress has a bit of romance, which is probably why I like it too.

Leave a Reply

