Van Gogh Groupie

Our third and last day in Amsterdam, we awoke to rain. On our agenda was the Van Gogh Museum. We stopped by a café for breakfast beforehand, where I was served tea in a glass. Hot drinks in glasses seemed to happen frequently in Amsterdam. In France, as in the States, they are typically drunk from a cup with a handle, although I once had a glass of hot chocolate at a café in Montmartre. I don’t understand—the glass is too hot to lift in one’s hands initially. 153.amsterdam.a

Near the museum a market of food, crafts, and accessories persisted under the gray sky.

153.amsterdam.b

I feel that my friend and I were pretty well matched museum-wise. It’s best to visit a museum with someone who has about the same speed, attention span, and level of interest as you do. Luckily, we were also both fans of Vincent Van Gogh. As I looked at Van Gogh’s paintings and read the wall descriptions about the works, places, and people in his life, I recognized what I had learned in art history classes, museums in Boston, New York, and Paris, and landscapes in Auvers-sur-Oise. It’s a privilege to be able to build on knowledge of art and biography through travel. Luckily, I’ve always lived in places with access to museums that have free admission hours on certain days. We did shell out our euros for Amsterdam’s Van Gogh Museum, which was well worth it if you enjoy his work.

We had time for a ferry ride to the Amsterdam North area, a walk and a sit by the water, and dinner at the station before leisurely hopping on the train back to Paris.

If I visit Amsterdam a second time, I’d like to bike into the countryside.

4 thoughts on “Van Gogh Groupie

  1. I would love to see that museum. My father visited it when he was young and my mum went to see the Van Gogh exhibition in Paris a couple of years ago, apparently they had a lot of original work. He is a fascinating artist.

    Hot drinks in glasses? Not for me! It just feels… weird.

    • I wonder how the museum has changed since your father went. That’s cool that your family has an interest in art. I remember that your father creates some interesting pieces.

  2. Definitely a big privilege getting to see original artworks. Not so many of the really big names available in NZ, when I studied art history at school, some of the works we studied were only black and white photocopies, eek!

    • Better than nothing, though it’s hard to discuss light and color if the images are in black and white! In school we viewed slide projections. I have many memories of sitting in a dark room while the teacher changed slides and lectured.

Leave a Reply

