Do Americans Eat Burgers Every Day?

When I am outside of the United States, people often ask me what Americans eat. Burgers? Bacon and eggs?

Well, the following is what my friends and I ate during my recent trip to Boston from a Friday afternoon to Sunday midday. Keep in mind that this is not our regular daily diet, as many of us usually eat cooked food at home, but this is an example of a weekend eating out with friends.

– Butternut squash risotto with mushrooms and a fried egg (I like fried eggs but have never understood putting one on top of anything, whether in French, Korean, or American cuisine)
– Duck salad with bleu cheese, dried cranberries, and apples
– Almond brioche
– Gruyere cheese croissant
– Coffee with milk and sugar (I am no longer in the land of espresso)
– Japanese buffet with lots of fish, sushi, delicate salads, and green tea soft serve (soft serve is a kind of ice cream and may be called something different in your country)
– Raw oysters
– Lobster roll (lobster pieces on soft, warm buttered bread)
– Cannoli
– Prosecco apple cider cocktails
– Pretzel bunny (a soft pretzel shaped like a bunny, in case you had a doubt)
– Smoked salmon and arugula sandwich
– Lamb and tomato chutney sandwich

Thank goodness my friends are gourmands, meaning we all love to eat.

I will admit that half the reason for making this list was so that I could relive my food pleasures. I am guessing that reading it is not half as interesting or enjoyable as eating it.

To note, I like a good burger once in a while. I probably have a burger less than once a month (except when I had two French friends visiting and they wanted to have burgers almost every day. At least we sampled different restaurants). I usually eat oatmeal or cold cereal for breakfast and only eat eggs on the weekends, usually fried or scrambled. I like bacon but only eat it about once or twice a year.

6 thoughts on “Do Americans Eat Burgers Every Day?

  1. Yes, the stereotype isn’t true at all, I agree. I was surprised by the number of “foodies” in North America, as well as the popularity of ethnic food (take-out Chinese, Italian, sushi, etc.) and the amazing choice of cuisine in big cities. Stereotypes that WERE true is portion size as well as super weird food mashups, like mmm… let’s take three fatty ingredients and deep fry the whole thing! But most people don’t eat these strange creation every day.

    Oh, and fries aren’t that popular. If anything, I think fries are a more common side in France!

    • Yes, portions are definitely bigger here than in other parts of the world. As you know there is also more sugar in everything and more ice in drinks.

      Mmm fries with ketchup. Come to think of it, I never thought about the difference between fries in the U.S. and in France. Fries in France are always skinny, if I remember correctly, whereas in the U.S. they can be either thick or skinny, and sometimes you can substitute sweet potato fries for regular. I am guessing it is the same in Canada as in the States.

  2. I swear I commented on this, but I guess it didn’t take. What I wanted to say was: tell me more about this prosecco apple cider cocktail. Alcoholic cider or your disappointing American version? (Just teasing.) And is it just me, or is prosecco having a moment right now? Seems to be everywhere, where before you’d have cava or a crémant or something.

    • Who dared reject your comment? It wasn’t me!

      Ha ha one can’t compare alcoholic cider with apple cider, they are completely different entities! Apple cider is autumn and pumpkins and cider doughnuts and haystacks. I know you were joking though (although I’m sure were not joking about the fact that you prefer alcohol cider).

      What my friend made was prosecco with apple cider– she compared it to a mimosa, but with apple cider instead of orange juice. I hardly ever drink mimosas but really liked her concoction.

      About prosecco, I don’t know… I once asked for it at a Carrefour Express in Paris, and none of the employees had ever heard of it!

      • Ok, I guess it kind of makes more sense to mix it with a sweeter juice rather than “hard cider”. I’m mostly joking, I’m sure your cider is nice if that’s what you’re used to. I just was disappointed one time in Toronto when I got all excited to have cider and then they brought me warm juice 😉

      • I can see how that would be disappointing– it’s like ordering wine and receiving grape juice.

        I like both cider and apple cider; I think of them as completely different drinks. My favorite is cider is cidre rosé. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

